Commission of Poverty

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration (Chairperson of the Social Security and Retirement Protection Task Force)

Non-official Members

Ms Amy Chan Lim-chee, JP

Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen

Ms May Chan Suk-mei, BBS, JP

Mr Clement Chen Cheng-jen, SBS, JP (Chairperson of the Education, Employment and Training Task Force)

Dr Henry Cheng Kar-shun, GBS

Hon Cheung Kwok-che

Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung, BBS, JP (Chairperson of the Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund Task Force)

Mr Chua Hoi-wai (Chairperson of the Special Needs Groups Task Force)

Dr Stephen Frederick Fisher, SBS

Hon Frederick Fung Kin-kee, SBS, JP

Mr Ho Hei-wah, BBS

Ms Lam Shuk-yee, SBS

Dr Law Chi-kwong, GBS, JP (Chairperson of the Community Care Fund Task Force)

Hon Leung Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP

Ms Li Fung-ying, SBS, JP

Hon Michael Tien Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Dr David Wong Yau-kar, BBS, JP (Chairperson of the Societal Engagement Task Force)

Dr Rosanna Wong Yick-ming, JP

Ex-officio Members

Secretary for Home Affairs

Secretary for Labour and Welfare (Vice-chairperson of the Social

Security and Retirement Protection Task Force)

Secretary for Education

Secretary for Food and Health

Terms of Reference

Commission on Poverty

The terms of reference are to:

- 1. examine the current poverty situation and causes of poverty in Hong Kong with a view to identifying favourable conditions for personal development, self-reliance and social mobility; and set poverty line as a tool for gauging the poverty situation and assessing the effectiveness of poverty alleviation policies;
- 2. review existing policies and formulate new policies to achieve the objectives of preventing and alleviating poverty and social exclusion, promoting social mobility as well as providing an appropriate safety net to better help the disadvantaged overcome material deprivation and improve livelihood;
- 3. co-ordinate and monitor the implementation of poverty prevention and alleviation policies and evaluate measures funded by the Community Care Fund, the Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund and other relevant government funding sources as appropriate;
- 4. engage stakeholders and advise on ways to promote tripartite partnership among the Government, the business sector and community organisations in poverty alleviation, including the development of social enterprises;
- 5. promote district-based poverty alleviation measures to better meet the specific needs of local residents; and
- 6. monitor the poverty situation in Hong Kong.

Commission on Poverty Social Security and Retirement Protection Task Force

Chairperson

Chief Secretary for Administration

Vice-chairperson

Secretary for Labour & Welfare

Members of the Commission on Poverty

Ms May CHAN Suk-mei, BBS, JP

Dr Henry CHENG Kar-shun, GBS

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che

Mr CHUA Hoi-wai

Dr Stephen FISHER, SBS

Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP

Mr HO Hei-wah, BBS

Ms LAM Shuk-yee, SBS

Dr LAW Chi-kwong, GBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP

Ms LI Fung-ying, SBS, JP

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Dr David WONG Yau-kar, BBS, JP

Dr Rosanna WONG Yick-ming, JP

Co-opted Members

Professor Alfred CHAN Cheung-ming, BBS, JP

Ms LAU Ka-shi, BBS

Ms Yvonne SIN

Dr WONG Hung

Professor Richard WONG Yue-chim, SBS, JP

Ex-officio Members

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare (or representative)

Commission on Poverty Societal Engagement Task Force

Chairperson

Dr David WONG Yau -kar, BBS, JP

Vice-chairperson

Miss Leonie KI Man-fung, SBS, JP

Members of the Commission on Poverty

Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP (up to 15.5.2014)

Co-opted Members

Hon CHAU Chuen-heung, BBS, MH, JP

Mr CHENG Rocky

Ms CHONG Wai-yan

Dr CHUNG Chi-ping, BBS, JP

Mr FONG Ping, JP

Ms Vanessa LAM Wai-shan

Mr LAU Ming-wai, BBS, JP

Ms Nikki NG Mien-hua

Miss Winnie NG Wing-mui

Mr Douglas SO Cheung-tak

Mr SUEN Kwok-lam, MH, JP

Mr WONG Hin-wing

Mr YEUNG Ka-sing, GBS, JP

Mr YIU Tze-leung, JP

Ex-officio Members

Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs (or representative)

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare (or representative)

Director of Home Affairs (or representative)

Commission on Poverty Education, Employment and Training Task Force

Chairperson

Mr Clement CHEN Cheng-jen, SBS, JP

Vice-chairperson

Dr Philemon CHOI Yuen-wan, SBS, JP

Members of the Commission on Poverty

Miss Amy CHAN Lim-chee, JP

Ms Sylvia CHAN May-kuen

Ms May CHAN Suk-mei, BBS, JP

Mr HO Hei-wah, BBS

Ms LAM Shuk-yee, SBS

Ms LI Fung-ying, SBS, JP

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Co-opted Members

Mr CHEUNG Sing-hung, BBS

Professor Stephen CHIU Wing-kai (up to 4.9.2013)

Mr KWOK Wing-keung, MH, JP

Ms LAM Pik-chu, MH

Ms Lilian LAW Suk-kwan, JP

Mr LEE Shing-see, GBS, JP

Mr William LEUNG Wing-cheung, BBS, JP

Mr SIN Kim-wai

Mr Irons SZE, JP

Dr Carrie WILLIS YAU Sheung-mui, SBS, JP

Mr Simon WONG Kit-lung, JP

Dr Alice YUK Tak-fun, JP

Ex-officio Members

Permanent Secretary for Education (or representative)

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare (or representative)

Commissioner for Labour (or representative)

Controller, Student Financial Assistance Agency (or representative)

Commission on Poverty Special Needs Groups Task Force

Chairperson

Mr CHUA Hoi-wai

Vice-chairperson

Mr CHEUNG Kin-fai, MH

Members of the Commission on Poverty

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che Dr Stephen FISHER, SBS Mr HO Hei-wah, BBS Dr LAW Chi-kwong, GBS, JP

Co-opted Members

Ms Carmen CHAN Ka-mun, JP
Mr Herman HUI Chung-shing, SBS, MH, JP
Dr LAM Ching-choi, SBS, JP
Mr Peter LEE Ka-kit, JP
Dr LEUNG Pak-yin, JP
Ms Deborah WAN Lai-yau, BBS, JP
Ms Elaine WU Siu-ling
Ms YU Sau-chu, BBS, MH, JP

Ex-officio Members

Permanent Secretary for Food & Health (Health) (or representative)
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare (or representative)
Director of Home Affairs (or representative)
Director of Social Welfare (or representative)
Commissioner for Rehabilitation (or representative)

Commission on Poverty Community Care Fund Task Force

Chairperson

Dr Law Chi-kwong, GBS, JP

Vice-Chairperson

Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun, GBS, JP

Members of the Commission on Poverty

Hon Cheung Kwok-che Mr Chua Hoi-wai Mr Ho Hei-wah, BBS Hon Michael Tien Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Co-opted Members

Miss Ophelia Chan Chiu-ling, BBS

Ms Chang Siu-wah

Dr Cheung Wai-lun, JP

Dr Saimond Ip

Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi, JP

Mr Lau Ming-wai, BBS, JP

Dr Sigmund Leung Sai-man, JP

Dr Donald Li Kwok-tung, SBS, JP

Miss Nancy Tsang Lan-see, JP

Dr Yuen Pong-yiu

Ex-officio Members

Permanent Secretary for Education (or representative)

Permanent Secretary for Food & Health (Health) (or representative)

Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs (or representative)

Permanent Secretary for Labour & Welfare (or representative)

Director of Home Affairs (or representative)

Commission on Poverty Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Fund Task Force

Chairperson

Professor Stephen CHEUNG Yan-leung, BBS, JP

Vice-chairperson

Dr Joseph LEE, GBS, JP

Members of the Commission on Poverty

Miss Amy CHAN Lim-chee, JP

Mr CHUA Hoi-wai

Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP

Dr LAW Chi-kwong, GBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Co-opted Members

Professor Kevin AU Yuk-fai

Mr Patrick CHEUNG

Ms Susanna CHUI

Mr Edward HO Man-tat

Mr KEE Chi-hing

Mr Timothy MA Kam-wah, JP

Mr Alvin MIU

Mr SIU Chor-kee, BBS, MH, JP

Mr WONG Siu-lung

Mr Michael WONG Yick-kam, MH

Mr Douglas WOO Chun-kuen

Ex-officio Members

Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs (or representative)

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare (or representative)